Careers…

Who am I to speak of a career? I am 42 yrs old and I haven’t really had a career that would be very impressive on a resume. I have served in the US Air Force where I worked in a hospital as support to an Air Transport Hospital, aka I was in Medical Logistics. I loved my job in the service! But due to my ever-growing family, I could no longer put service before self. I was pregnant with child #6 and was told that as soon as I came back from maternity leave, I would be sent on a deployment. Push came to shove, I got out of the military with an honorable discharge on my pregnancy. Sadly, I later learned that I made Staff Sergeant on my first test! I could have had a successful career.

I became a stay at home mom for sometime and added child #7 during the career change. I loved being home with my children but I also wanted more than that. I became a Jack of All Trades but a matter at none. I worked as seasonal overnight crew at ToysRUs, an asst manager in food, a store manager for Dollar General, a photographer for school portraits, an auditor for a billing company, a photographer again in a portrait studio and even a sandwich artist. Of course there are more but I don’t want to list every odd job I have had. The point is, I don’t truly have a career. I don’t have something that I can fall back on doing until I reach retirement.

Currently I am working with my 2nd husband in the business he created 10 yrs ago. I have been working along side of him for the past 6 yrs doing lawn maintenance. My husband mows and I do the running around with the trimmer and edger. I do the detail work that others do not really care to do, do not have the time or may lack the ability to do it themselves. So they hire us and I am very proud of the work that I do. It isn’t easy! And the work definitely keeps me in good physical shape! (I love the muscles in my arms:) Here comes the but…. But I am getting older and reminded by my husband and the aches and pains of my body that I can’t do this job until I retire either.

So now what? I have spent most of my life taking care of my children and others leaving me not knowing what I am going to do because I lack the technical skills to acquire a career to carry me the next 25 yrs or so.

What is the lesson learned? I stress to my children to go to college and get a career that will benefit the life style they chose. As for me…I will find something else to do, in due time.

Day 7

Leave a Reply

