Letting go…Day 11

As I have mentioned before, I have 9 children of which 5 of them are adults. The most recent of age 18yr old is starting college. I have been through this before with my children reaching an age that they want to have freedom to go and do what they want. I understand they each want to, forgive the term, spread their wings and fly but I have a hard time letting go.

Are you thinking of the song from ‘Frozen’ yet? Go ahead and sing it or play it to get it out of your head if you need to…this seems to be an earworm many have battled.

As parents, we naturally want the best for our children. We want them to have better advantages than we had, we want them to have strong relationships that will be their security when we are gone, but most of all, we want them to do better and be stronger than we were. We work hard raising them in hopes they will live up to their full potential. And while these are parents best intentions, the new bird that wants to fly thinks that we just don’t want them to fly at all.

Even though I have other children that have already left the nest, I have not learned how to cope with letting go. I have all these fears that run through my head…car accidents,  wrong influences, drinking/drugs, getting pregnant, getting sick, getting lost and no help, and more. As a mom, I fear a LOT!!! My mother taught me the only way to get through it is to pray to God that He will watch over them and keep them safe AND have confidence that what I have taught and how I have raised them will stick.

I understand that they need to experience their own battles and triumphs. But letting go to let them get those bumps and bruises along the way is the hardest. I just hope that they will continue to understand that no matter what, I am their biggest fan and I only want the best…in due time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

